Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

Soooooooooooooooo Tired of This “Look”

Leave a comment

 

 

There are some “fashion” looks out there that are driving me nuts. And they are everywhere. In RTW, sewing patterns, cool clothing sites and just EVERYWHERE.

 

Here’s my top I hate this look

 

Ugly Dresses  My Mom Would Wear

Ugly Dresses
My Mom Would Wear

sick of it1

 

ugly dressThese short dresses with the fitted waist and flared or not flared skirt look good on someone who is 17, weighs 85 lbs and is 7 feet tall. In other words, nobody.

 

I have seen “bombshell” dresses on people with horn-rimmed glasses and the worst hair color ever invented. I have seen these on women of a certain age and I have seen these in pictures from the 50s before I started paying attention to what people wear. I was born in 1952, thank God so I didn’t have to wear these tacky-looking things.

 

My generation – the hippy generation – wore long maxi dresses out of paisley fabrics, halter tops and short shorts. Also the last two I hate as fashion statements. I never looked good in short shorts ——- or halter tops because you cannot hide a D-cup in a halter top Maxi dresses – yes I love them and I made myself one last year – they are CUTE.

 

Dresses with big skirts and tiny waists – hmmm – sounds like Scarlett O’Hara and Marilyn Monroe. It sounds OLD. It sounds like boy you better not eat that cracker – you won’t fit into that dress!

 

And here’s a really really good reason why I hate these style …………… anorexia. How can we raise our daughters (if I had one) to be happy in their own skin if we keep promoting fashion as the epitome of beauty that only looks good on painfully thin people? Forget childhood obesity programs – you will force any young lady to either diet until she dies from the effort or girls who binge because they know they will never look that thin.

 

When I was growing up Twiggy was popular. Rail thin, no boobs and super tall looking. Poor boy sweaters were in fashion. They did not look good on a girl with boobs. The ribs on the sweater got all stretched out of shape.

 

There are other looks I hate. Like 6″ heels on a platform. You have no idea how much your back will pay you back for wearing these. Someday you will hurt and, provided you don’t fall off your shoes and break your ankle, your back is still going to hurt. Your knees will make walking up stairs painful. I used to walk 12 blocks in 3.5″ heels in Detroit. I was in pain all day. I was so glad when someone thought of the idea of wearing trainers until you get to work. Better yet, wearing flats to work. Why make running hard when you may get mugged at any moment?

 

I also hate brightly colored pants. Do you know of anyone that looks good in screaming neon? I had a boss once who was extremely chubby – not to say fat. She wore skin-tight cropped pants in a shiny silver. They left nothing to the imagination, especially in the crotch area. Her shirts were so tight you could see her boobs. I don’t think she’d ever heard of an underwire. She must have had the idea she was thin. Or whatever …………. maybe she was just trying to fit in without dieting or turning anorexic.

 

So hey a word to the fashion wise. Could we like ah start designing clothes that actually flatter? Can we get out of the retro look PLEASE and design clothes that look stunning not stunted? Get over the snake thing and the bombshell dress thing and the horrid looking high heel things ………….. get real.

 

English: Cropped screenshot of Vivien Leigh fr...

English: Cropped screenshot of Vivien Leigh from the trailer for the film Gone with the Wind (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

