Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

Wrapped in Fabric ………..

Leave a comment

Make that my BRAIN wrapped in fabric. I am super inspired to create these days. Spooky inspired. I have lots of new patterns and a whole new roll of pattern material to adjust them and/or draft my own. There are more patterns I want. For instance Style Arc’s Marie Jacket and this month the cutest May top is the freebie. MUST.HAVE.

I found the fabric for Marie in Australia too – at Tessuti Fabrics. I think this link will work here http://www.tessuti-shop.com/products/red-mazzetto-ponti-digital-printed. And I found a jersey that’s cute for a top – http://www.tessuti-shop.com/products/sculptured-garden.

And there’s more – I have a huge shipment of Emma One Sock hitting the door soon. Silks and jerseys and all sorts of lovely stuff.  Here’s two – the rest I bought are sold out – which is why with EOS you punch that checkout button FAST.

knit_FRpanelflowerblue knit_BJflor

 

I saw a cute shirt with the dusty blue panel print with the flower running down one side ……………. it will be mine!

And then there’s a rose silk print here

Silk from Elliott Berman Textiles New York

Silk from EOS

So many choices. I approximately two months to work on these and churn them out. I haven’t been sewing a lot for a couple of weeks – working on Ebay selling to fund the fabric addiction.

I’m also trying to conceptualize some shirts/skirts/pants that will not be BAGGY and will still flatter the less than svelte form. I do see rather chubby people online in tighter fitting clothes. I’m not sure I like the look. I tend to oversize everything – which is a habit from my teens when the boobs were breaking out and looking humongous. I don’t think I ever got used to having boobs. And certainly not a D cup set. Thank God I don’t have a G cup – it could be worse.

I’ve found a bra that makes these puppies stand up and pay attention. It’s called Anita Twin – twin? – and I have it in a couple of colors. I also found that Chantelle is supposed to be good – but I think they are all underwire bras and I like those about as well as I like 6″ heels. I can’t spend my whole day with my midsection being poked by wires. Underwear is no problem – I got a ton of Jockey micro-fiber briefs in different colors – no white please. They fit well and are smoothing under clothing.

I see shape wear is the biggest thing. Question – doesn’t this stuff kind of remind you of girdles? Those of you under 50 may not remember girdles but they were contraptions from Hell. They were made out of some horrid elastic material. I tended to bump out below and above the damn things. They came down about to the middle of your thigh. And they had these weird hooky things for you to attach your nylons to. Front and back. Those things made indentations in your legs. The girdle itself was like being boiled in oil all day. Boiled is the word for sure – the elastic did not breathe.

Another trend I’m not sure I’m seeing right. Do people really wear dresses without panty hose even when it’s kind of cold? Am I seeing pure leg polished up with some kind of oil or moisturizer? Or tanning stuff – which makes you look orange? Is this what I’m seeing?

Ok. Enough of that – off to the grocery store – see how much I can save for fabric ………….

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

