Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

The Lunacy is in My Life – Need the Couture Part

Leave a comment

I’ve been so busy I can’t even take pictures. I hope to remedy that today. It seems I’ve been neglecting the sewing room in pursuit of the almighty buck. But I haven’t been neglecting the fun parts of my life altogether.

I have a new focus and I’m not sure where it came from – what swirling tide of ideas prompted my new fixation on beauty products? It could be my new subscription to InStyle

Over the last few weeks I have purchased some beauty products I just love. The first whooptido was John Frieda‘s Glaze in the brunette coloring. I color my hair because it is dark brown with lots of gray strands mixed in. Around my temples the color is totally gone. Whimper. I am not ready to be gray – I am a young chick of only 61.

frieda

The glaze is put on after you shampoo (messy – do this in the shower) and you leave it on for 3 or more minutes. Amazing stuff – it covers all the gray peaking out from my hairline in between colorings. It also makes my hair shine like crazy – love this stuff. It’s recommended to use this 3 times per week – no problemo – I look so good I’d use it every day.

I also got a new styling tool. It’s an air brush – which have been around ever since I attended beauty school in the 70s. But this one works!

brush

I love my new brush. I got the 1.5″ size since my hair is long and thick. I don’t want curl – because my hair is straight Native American hair – I just want volume.

I am weirdly drawn to anti-aging cosmetics and lotions. I ran into a sale at Walgreens where I get extra bonus points if I buy two anti-aging moisturizers. Whew. That wasn’t hard at all. I love the extra 3000 points I earned and the creams are great too. I went with the L’Oreal line. One says it will help with sagging – maybe I should get a gross of them and start applying it to my boobs. Whatcha think?

And Sinful Colors – oh my – nail polish for $1.99 in every color imagineable. I am typing this with fingers made lovely by Love Nails (deep metallic turquoise) with Ice Dream glitter polish over the top. I got Thistleberry which is going to be next too. And a deep bright red and a purple with another purple glitter and wow silvery white and a pale mauve and a pinky frost —– next will be orange. This is a good polish too. It covers well and with Sally Hansen’s Hard as Nails the manicure stays fresh!

sinful colors

And then we have makeup – I don’t wear foundation a lot but I do when I go to work. I’ve been using Lancome‘s primer and foundation and I have some powdered mineral makeup from Lancome too. Yesterday I bought Maybelline makeup which promises a magic lift – woohoo.

maybelline

And another wonderful product – scar oil. I do have a nasty gall bladder scar on my abdomen but nobody sees that – oh no – I was led to Bio-Oil by an editor at InStyle. Seems the old scar oil makes your face look awesome too – it evens out the skin tone and makes age spots disappear. I’m putting it on my forearms too – where I see what Grandma would call “liver spots.” I will let you know how this goes ……………

bio-oil

And for the first time in my life I bought a pedicure set. This has a cute little motor – for which I forgot to get the batteries for – duh. I will scrounge around for the batteries and take this tool to my heels. The callouses are amazing. I never knew skin could be that thick ………….

My hair is finally long enough. I had started growing it out a year ago from a 2″ all over Kiera Knightley photo. Not like I was ever going to look like her – but the cut wasn’t flattering. I looked older with short hair – horrors. Now it is shoulder length and the cut is so good I’ve gone since February without a trim. Being an ex-hairdresser, I cut my bangs whenever they get in my way and I can do this without making myself look like I cut my own hair. Thankfully. I will not cut any other part of my hair – you just can’t get the right angle.

I’m looking forward to a summer of me looking less tired, more rested, prettier and happier. Life is changing here so I don’t feel like I will be trapped anymore. I’m starting to think about what I want to do – instead of how I will cope. It is sad – my DH will be moving to a nursing home shortly – and I had thought this day wouldn’t ever come. I had been told by 4 doctors that it would but I refused to pay attention. This is a trying time but there is a silver lining. I feel like I’m going to get my life back. I can make plans to travel, go out with friends, work at a job I love and not feel guilty for leaving him with someone else. I will be able to be free of the enormous responsibility of full-time caregiver. And DH will have a safe, more manageable environment where there are more than two people to share in his care. He will have a room with a bathroom that isn’t up two flights of stairs. He will have people around him that aren’t constantly nagging at him to do something. He will be better taken care of and we will be able to breathe again. Looking forward to breathing ……………

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

