Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

Cheap is not always bad …….

Leave a comment

A post or so ago I admitted my new addiction to beauty products. Of any kind, any brand, just lovely stuff to make me feel pretty.

I had occasion to actually put makeup on the other day and I used this for the first time

maybellineIt is called The Lifter which I thought was a wonderful name since I need a Lifestyle Lift and can’t get to Boston or pay for it. So $11.50 for a bottled lift sounded like a good idea for me.

I have other foundation in my beauty bin. I usually buy Lancome‘ when I can afford it. My last foundations from Lancome’ were $42 each. One was powdered mineral makeup for which I also bought the primer for an additional $42 and the perfect match or something like that for $42.

Neither of those – a whopping $126 worth of makeup is as good as the Maybelline! I am so thrilled. For $less than $12 this foundation makes my face look perfect. Flawless and dewy and young. I was so amazed at the appearance after a few hours – I still looked fresh and dewy – none of the foundation had melted off even though I am prone to hot flashes.

For those of us over 50 or even 60 (moi) this stuff is perfection in a bottle ………… I can skip the Lancome’ now – even if they try to entice me with a cute bag and samples ……….

 

 

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

