Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

Sewing Room Day

Leave a comment

I hope I actually get in there. We have a physical therapist, speech therapist and hygiene therapist coming today. I don’t need to hang out with them. They take care of DH on their own.

I need to finish hand sewing the collar on this

DSC_2098

And then I can do the buttonholes and buttons and hem it. It will be finished.

It’s hard to decide what is next. I want to use my new serger DS bought me for Mother’s Day. I think I will start with a knit so will do a tee-shirt of some sort. I’m thinking this one

V1247

only in a knit – the pattern calls for a woven. I’m going to use fabric that is orange, black, cream and turquoise knit and I will snap a pic before I cut it for you.

I’m getting excited that I may be able to go to work in July after all so getting some new tee shirts done will be fantastic. I have plenty of winter sweaters thanks to a huge Eddie Bauer sale and clearance last February. I bought 7 sweaters and they were all $19.99 or $14.99. For $79.99 originally priced sweaters – this was a steal. I had thrown out or given away most of my old sweaters. When they get balls on them out they go. I can’t wear a heavy wool sweater at work because it is so warm in there. We have a gas fireplace in the call center so it keeps us very warm.

I wear jeans to work – I love being able to do that because you are for some reason much more comfortable when you’re wearing jeans. I got some new ones from Eddie Bauer for $14.99 in the same sale. They were originally $69.99 so I was pumped about that!

I purchased some sandals – these in fact

drscholls

salima

They are both higher than what I normally wear – I wear Birkenstocks most of the time – but the Born on the bottom are super comfortable and not wobbly – the Dr. Scholls are comfortable and just like the original sandal I wore when I was 17 except the bottom isn’t wood – it’s some sort of composite material. I like them both. My jeans are 33″ in the inseam and they will work well with higher heels – even though they are fine with lower ones.

That’s why I get my jeans at Eddie Bauer and not from my employer! My employer’s jeans are 29.5″ in the inseam – they look like high waders. Also the manufacturer can come in anywhere between 28.5 and 30.5 as a quality issue. I hope they change the length on pants soon – we are losing lots of business by the pants being too short. Only a petite person can wear pants this short.

I found more Sinful Colors yesterday – I got a beige nude, hot purple, and a lavender and white from Sally Hanson. I put on light turquoise last night but it’s funky looking and is messy so I’m changing today. Wow I have so many nail polish colors I can barely make up my mind. Here’s the picture

sinful colorsand even more

OutOfThisWorld SocialLadder

You just have to see these to be amazed that they are only $1.99 to $2.99. The nail care ones are $3.99. Honestly this is a very good deal when Lancome wants $15 a bottle. I’m collecting all of them except the yellows and acid greens. Those are not colors I’d ever wear!

Off to wake up DH so he can get ready for his bath – love having home healthcare come!

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

