Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

No Lack of Interests For Me!

1 Comment

For those of you uninitiated into the thrill of mindless consumption – these are tjaps. They are Indonesian and they are used to apply wax in batik. I will not be using them for that however. I will be putting paint, foil, whatever onto them and stamping them onto either shirts or fabric. As soon as I decide if I should buy shirts or just buy fabric or what the hell buy both.

I have been dyeing fabric since 1987. My first sold quilt went for whoot $1500 and it was my version of an Amish Center Diamond in indigo, fuchsia and purple. It was hand quilted and I used this batting and muslin that was so HEAVY I created a great case of carpal tunnel finishing that quilt. It was worth every twinge.

This is a new adventure for me although I have been doing surface design regularly. I have never tried stamping or anything like it. I did batik way back longer ago than I can remember and I enjoyed it immensely. It is what started me on my tour of magical textile delights.

I’m anxious to begin the stamping. I use Lumiere paints and Jones Tones foils. These should look wonderful on any color fabric. I like the diminutive prints for clothing as I can put it all over and not look garish. At one point I wanted to silkscreen. It took me reading the instructions to say ah no. I don’t think so. I’m way too messy for silkscreen.

A while back I did try Shiva Paint Sticks – and they’re okay if you’re not going to wear what you paint with them. I could never get the hang of the rubbing plates because they weren’t textured enough for me to see any particular design. I think they’d be great for fabric for a purse or something like that – but they aren’t as usable for clothing.

Stay tuned – I hope to get pictures out to you soon! Oh by the way – you can get these tjaps at Dharma Trading Company – which is the absolute most supremely wonderful supply store for EVERYTHING and ANYTHING you can think of doing. I mean everything – I get my dyes from them, silk paints, my Lumiere paints, my ready to dye fabrics, clothing blanks, purse blanks, silks on and on and on ………….

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

One thought on “No Lack of Interests For Me!

  1. I had no idea you had this blog as well. How do you find the time to keep up two blogs as well as your carer role? I am in awe.

Leave a Reply

