Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

I Think The Moon is Out …….

Leave a comment

I actually think the moon is out of its mind. It is huge. I know they’re calling it Super Moon or something silly like that. It’s just the moon and it’s big.

I find the full moon interferes with my sleep. Maybe I’m some kind of a sensitive (well I am psychic) or something. Doesn’t it sound ridiculous when I say I’m psychic? Well I am. I worked as a professional psychic for several years. Odd how I haven’t put that on my resume although they always want to know what I did in these years I look like I didn’t have work. I fall back on the wife/mother thing.

I paid a visit to DH today in the memory care unit. He’s doing really well although I can tell he wants to come home and he’s wondering if he will be able to. I wish I could take care of him. I almost packed him up and dragged him out of there – even though it is a lovely place out in the country with fields and woods surrounding it. He has nice nurses and they are sensitive to him and his sadness. He’s only been there less than a week.

I saw him last Tuesday and then I had a lot to do here and what with being exhausted I took Wed, Thurs, Fri and Sat off. So that was four days I didn’t see him and last night he was asking for me. I am going back to visit on Wednesday so he will only have two days without me around. Wow. This is harder than I thought. I really miss him – even though he drove me absolutely nutso. And he did. He didn’t argue with me – he just wouldn’t do anything I asked him to. Not that he ever did – little sugar that he is for sure. He has this really bad stubborn and ornery streak and you can tell the way he looks at you that he isn’t paying attention or just isn’t going to do what you ask him to do.

I couldn’t take the falling or the pooping in his Depends. Such a mess and I’m really not good at cleaning up that stuff. Over the last two years I’ve had major messes to clean up where he’s just messed all over the bedroom, bathroom and the basement. It was horrible. He hadn’t had a spell of all over the house stuff for about a month but something happened a couple of weeks ago and now he doesn’t recognize that he needs to go to the bathroom. He just goes.

I came home and got busy on my shirt. Boy I do not like those cuffs. I put new ones on and they still look stupid so I cut THEM off and now the sleeves are shorter for sure – but I’m just going to hem the sleeve and let it go. Enough with the cuffs already. I’m going to see how I can do this in a better way than Drape Drape 3 gives you directions for – not that I was using the directions – maybe that’s the problem?

The shirt is cute. I will wear this and I will make more –

The fabric is a lot darker than the pictures show. It’s a dark teal. The sleeves here look longer because the first cuff is still on. Not anymore! I cut them off put on another and cut it off too. So now I’ve lost about 3 inches or more in sleeve length. It will be fine.

I have all this “spare” time now so I cleaned all the old bills off the built-in china cupboard in the dining room. We have a dish cupboard with three glass doors and shelves and then the shelf and three drawers under that and then two large drawers under the three small ones. It’s very nice and a lot of the old Maine houses we looked at have them. I wish my drawers weren’t solid full of junk though. I need a shredder and I just keep accumulating paper and sticking it everywhere because really who wants to spend money on a shredder? I will have to spend weeks shredding paper.

I think my manic shopping sprees have ended. I surely hope so. I am going to quit looking at stuff I want for the house – with the exception of some curtains for the cabinets in the kitchen and some paint for the deck. I want to get an estimate on how much it would cost to paint the house too. It needs something and I’m pretty sure I can’t afford siding.

I’m taking an early night – boy this feels weird – hope I get used to being an ex-caregiver!

 

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

