Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

Updates on Vogue 1247

Leave a comment

Okay I’ve got most of this cut out for the muslin. I’m using a pretty vintage fabric which I will add pictures because it is too hard to explain. It is only 36″ wide and I’ve had it for about 16 years. I guess I can use it now.

It is cotton rather than silk, which will be my fiber for the finished top. It has nice body and is chintz-like so it will drape well.

I spent some time cutting it out the wrong way as it is a directional fabric. Luckily I had enough to re-cut the front. Why am I always not paying attention? It didn’t dawn on me until I cut the back that I had adjusted the front piece so that the design would appear sideways, not up and down. Got it now.

The shirt appears to be an easy construction after the hardest part of adjusting the pattern to fit me. I think I’d better get some stock in a tape company because I have used a ton of it piecing this pattern together. At least it will be good for many other tops and I don’t need to adjust it again.

I like doing this sort of adaptation of a pattern I see but cannot wear. This means that I’m free to purchase any pattern and make it work for me. I dislike “plus” size patterns as much as I dislike plus-size ready to wear clothing. They are all frumpy and old-looking or else something that no one of any size would wear. Like the Burdastyle patterns for plus sizes. Most of these are out of the question for anyone over a size 14. Which is not plus-sized but rather the average size of women.

So until I start that major overhaul known as a healthy diet in order to lose some weight, it’s good to know I can adapt anything to work for me.

And the healthy diet? It won’t be a diet per se, it will be a lifestyle change. I’m working on it now, trying to get the nasty eating habits I’ve formed until control. I’m going to change not only how I eat, but when I eat and under what conditions. No more eating with one hand and surfing with another.

I have a pitta/kapha dosha – which is a constitution explained in Ayurveda. I find myself eating foods that imbalance kapha more than the pitta-imbalancing foods. So I will first concentrate on getting the kapha foods right and adding bits of pitta foods that will not imbalance either or both of them.

Dieting is self-defeating for me. Not being able to follow strict rules in any part of my life, I surely can’t with food. I can cook anything so that it is tempting and tasty. And I’m going back to a strict vegetarian diet as that diet makes me feel better.  And I’m leaving off the butter addiction. Please I can’t believe I can’t live without butter. I’m going to start using the Mediterranean tradition of using olive oil with which to cook and not smearing fat all over a piece of bread – we’ll see how this works!

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

