Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

My Beautiful Dining Room

Leave a comment

finished-chair

They’re done! All four dining room chairs have a new life with new cushion covers. It’s so nice to have CLEAN cushion covers. I don’t know how many times I’ve washed the old ones but they never looked clean.

I always like when I wear something I’ve made and I feel great in it. That’s the way with this shirt

origami2

which I wore again on my last nursing home visit with DH. It’s very loose and comfortable and perfect for a 95 degree day with high humidity. I was comfortable. I’m going to make this again. Right now though I’m going to concentrate on getting some things done that I will want for work. Yes, you heard me, work.

I feel very blessed to work for a company that you can tell in July you can’t come back and then you can call them 3 weeks later to see if there’s anything open. I did and there was. I start back at LL Bean on August 28. This time, I’m doing the second shift. I think this will be a better fit for me because I dislike getting up by an alarm and rushing to get ready. This way I can wake up normally, putz around, get dressed and get to work without all the rush.

My work attire includes jeans. I can always wear something else, but jeans are so comfortable and you can relax and feel good working. I don’t know what it is about denim that makes us all feel like we’re on holiday! But I love it and everything I sew usually hinges around how it will look with jeans.

There are more patterns from the Drape Drape 3 book that are on my wish list. This one I love

drapedrap3

 

And this pattern from Style Arc

MAY-13-Special

 

Both of these will be seriously comfortable. The tee shirt will be flattering on me and thankfully Chloe drafts these patterns by hand. This means it will actually fit! I don’t need to do any adjusting. Just cut it out and sew it up.

The bubble top is very cute and would look great out of a sheer or a silk. I have plenty of both. I have a Milly print that was used in a handbag and a dress and sold in stores for an enormous amount of money. It’s this print

milly

 

and I have it in silk with enough yardage to make the bubble top. I love this print.

I found the fabric for my lower cabinet curtains in the kitchen hiding in my stash. Well not hiding. It’s a beautiful bright blue and periwinkle print on white. I brought it down to the kitchen to see if it looked good with the Martha Stewart Enamel paint color. It looks fantastic. Thank God because I can’t afford to buy more fabric just yet. I have some white muslin my mother had to make quilt backings and I’m going to make the kitchen curtains out of that. Even though the windows are new, I’m going to cover them with insulating shades too in the winter. Every little bit helps.

And every little bit needs to help. I wanted to sell a bunch of stuff through an auction this summer. I haven’t had any luck with the three or four I’ve contacted. One agreed they could sell the stuff but they aren’t coming up here at any time in the future as far as I can tell and it’s way too much for me to haul in the back of a Subaru. So I wait. I spoke with another auctioneer and he flatly said nothing in the price range of what I have will bring any price at all. So here I sit. I have a huge $2300 oil bill from last year to find the cash for. Plus I will need oil this winter if only to keep the water hot. My dream of an on-demand hot water heater just went whoosh out the door.

There are many things that need fixing in the house and I have to take them one by one. Not having my husband be able to fix things since 2010 has been a rude awakening for me. I’m going to get very good at handyman work. Or else.

I’m going to leave with some pictures of the nursing home where DH is living now. It’s out in the country – which isn’t far at all from my small little town.

nursinghome1nursing-homefield

 

Sad as it is that he has to be there, it’s  a beautiful place!

 

 

 

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

