Couture Lunacy

Exploring Fashion One Thread At A Time

Now That You Have Skinny Pants – Guess What?

Leave a comment

It should come as no surprise to those of us who love fashion that fashion changes. Like Heidi Klum says “One day you’re in. Next day you’re out.” Sometimes it doesn’t even take a day.

There are many unflattering clothing styles in fashion these days. Like those way below your waist pants that look ludicrous even on skinny tiny people. I don’t think showing everything from your pelvis up is pretty. Some of those stomachs look frightening! Seriously.

And skinny pants. Leggings. You know things that cling to your calves. Worn with baggy tops or not baggy tops. Whatever. Here’s my shape problem. I am overweight. No question about this, and I have been most of my life. I have large breasts, a large stomach and smaller hips. My shoulders wouldn’t look so wide if I was thinner. I am trying to get thinner. I ate tomatoes and cucumbers in a salad for lunch. My legs? They come from my grandmother. Grandma Hattie to be exact. My legs look almost atrophied, a fact which my doctor in PEI took great amusement in telling me.

I did not laugh. My thighs aren’t even large. My calves are small and my ankles are so small that when I buy ankle strap shoes, we have to punch a hole somewhere about 3 inches from the last hole so I can keep them on. I just bought a pair of ankle straps I had to return because they had velcro closings on the ankle strap and there wasn’t any velcro where I needed to close them.

This all means that walking around in skinny pants and a billowing top just accentuates my weird shape. If I were geometry, I would be a triangle. For the last few years, skinny pants and jeans have become the norm. I cannot wear them. I do have a pair of jean leggings. I wear these in the house. I do not wear them in public. I will not wear them in public.

I’m sure a lot of you have gone out and added skinny pants to your wardrobes. Wear them quickly. They are, like every fad, on their way out. Since most women are a size 14 or greater, these skinny pants do not flatter them. Luckily there are enough of us who will not bend to fashion fads and so we don’t have them wasting away in our closets. If you do, guess what the next trend is? How about wide legged pants? Here’s an assortment from fashion magazines, InStyle to be exact and a runway show or two.

The two examples on the bottom are Vogue patterns. The Chado Ralph Rucci is a new pattern from this spring’s collection. The Donna Karan pattern has been around a while.

These “new” wide legged pants are going to require different top treatments. They won’t look balanced with an oversized top and will probably require layering for me. I can see wearing these with a v-neck tee and a cardigan. The cardigan can be just a light jersey, something to balance out the pants.

I must say I’m much happier that wide legged pants are making a comeback. Maybe I’ll get out of my jeans . . . or find some wide legged ones!

 

Author: Jennifer

I came from a family who made things. My father was a carpenter with a passion for making furniture. My mother sewed, crocheted, cooked and made a home on a shoestring. My grandmothers both quilted. As a teenager, I found batik through a wonderful art teacher who allowed me the freedom to batik yards of fabric. I then cut them up into a pattern and wore the item I made. I was ecstatic. I painted in my teens and twenties and my parents gracefully supplied me with oil paints and turpentine. When I needed an easel, my father took me to the shop where he worked and made me one. When he found unused and unwanted canvas, he brought it home and stretched it for me with wood from his shop at home. I was indulged at every step of the way. I wasn't ever told that I could not do something or that I should not do something. I was given freedom to chose my path in life. A blessed life I have lived, for sure.

Leave a Reply

